AdWords
5.3K members online now
5.3K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Is there a method to tell whether a specific enquiry is from adwords or organic search.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi All

I have been using a contact form on my website for many years.  there has always been  multiple options  on our contact page for a lead to select how they found out about us.  ie Google, magazines, newspaper, friend etc. Most of our enquiries are from online sources or referrals nowdays, And we have been using Adwords for some time now.

However if given the option on the enquiry form of “Google search”  for a website visitor, there is no way to differentiate whether it was paid or organic. I imagine people are pretty unaware of whether they're clicking sponsored results or organic results,  so there would be no point in having two check boxes.

Now I do understand that there is conversion tracking offered in Google Analytics and we do already use this. However this only tells you if a lead “converted” to an enquiry.

What we really want to know is specifically how an individual found us whether it was Google adwords or organic,  So we can work out  if the individual converted to an actual sale.

1. John found us though adwords

Jane found us through google seo

We are a low volume / high value business so this information would be very helpful in understanding our market better and how they shop for our service and get an idea of the quality of the leads generated by each.

Is there any method anyone is aware of to measure this or track this?

Thanks for your help.

2 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Craig T
March 2016

Re: Is there a method to tell whether a specific enquiry is from adwords or organic search.

Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor
Hi Craig T,