Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

How to target small business owners with Google display adds

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi,

I'm a Web designer and I want to start with Google display ads to get more customers.

Most of my current customers are small business owners.

What is the best way for me to target small business owners that are in need of a website or want a new website?

Regards,

Mark

1 Expert replyverified_user

How to target small business owners with Google display adds

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Good question.

I have a couple of points and I am sure others will chime in.

Firstly, most small businesses aren't necessarily aware that they could use a new website. so your decision to go with the display ads is a good one. but you need to present a strong argument as to why they need a new site. and it cannot just be because it would be nice! Focus your ads on how a new site can help them make more money by attracting more business.

Beware of making promises you can't keep - such as - your new site will be top of Google... instead focus (perhaps) on the failings of most SMB websites - out of date information, hard to update, not mobile friendly etc. These are things the SMB will be aware of but don't feel they have the time (or the budget) to fix. Many, many businesses have a website because they feel they have to - but they've never really thought of the site as a sales tool. These are all buttons you can press.

Then think about where these people are likely to be going when they are online.... what kind of pages will they be visiting and where should be run your ads. With tight geo targeting and carefully selected placements you can often penetrate a local market very effectively - and you don't need to spend a fortune.

Think about topics - an SMB might be looking at Wordpress and other online solutions as a self serve option - you could find then there.