Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

How to put a total $ limit on a campaign

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I'm new to AdWords and set up a test campaign using my credit card, with a $10/day limit. I didn't see any field that would allow me to put a total limit on the campaign--just a limit on the number of days it would run. How do I set a maximum per day, and a maximum spend, without putting an end date to the campaign?

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by MosheTLV (Top Contributor)
September 2015

Re: How to put a total $ limit on a campaign

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
Simple. You can choose that when you create campaign in "Budget" option where the amount is shown in your currency / day.
Or if you created campaign you can click on your campaign name, choose campaign settings tab and scroll down to "Budget" option.
There you set budget just for that selected campaign.
Regards.

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
September 2015

Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
Hi Christopher D,

in addition to what Drazen F said, you should be aware that campaigns cost might exceed their daily budget by 20%. But AdWords uses a monthly charging limit so you won't be charged more than your daily budget multiplied by 30,4 (in your case, maximum that you'd be charged is $304). Also, monthly charging limit won't be used if your daily budget changes throughout the month.

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Christopher D
September 2015

Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 6
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
You can set up an automated rule to pause your campaign as soon as it reaches budget you've set for it. More on automated rules here: https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/2472779?hl=en

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
September 2015

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆