AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
4.4K members online now
4.4K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

How can I combine a positive broad keyword with a phrase negative keyword that are similar?

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all!

I'm new to adwords so I hope you guys can help me out a bit.

I built to adgroups: one is called 'App_phrase' and the other one 'App_broad'.
As you can already imagine I include positive keywords in phrase for the first adgroup like 'english app kids' and positive broad keywords on the second adrgroup such as '+english+app+kids'.

The second next logical step is to place 'english app kids' as a negative keyword in phrase for the broad adgroup, this way im capturing the searches that I want in the phrase adrgroup (with a really good ROI) and leaving other more broad terms for the broad adrgroup.

This seemed quite logical to me, however when added the negative phrase for the broad adgroup adwords shows that ' +english+app+kids' is not showing ads because the negative phrase kw 'english app kids' is impeding it to do so.

Any tips?

Thanks in advance

2 Expert replyverified_user

How can I combine a positive broad keyword with a phrase negative keyword that are similar?

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

IMO organizing ad groups by match type creates a huge mess as you are trying to get things to trigger accurately in the beginning, not to mention adding new test keywords and variations as you go.  It's a management nightmare.

There is nothing wrong with combining the match types in the same ad group and monitoring which performs better for you.  Keep it simple.

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor

Hi @Diego P,

What you're seeing in the account is accurate language, but absolutely confusing.