AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
5.4K members online now
5.4K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

How are ads within an ad group selected?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am fairly new to AdWords and I am just at a point where I start looking beyond the basics. My situation is this: I have an ad group with several ads associated with it. I have about 15 keywords in that ad group. The ads and keywords perform well for the most part but there is one keyword that is performing poorly because of "a low quality score". My assumption is that it's performing poorly because none of the current ads actually include that keyword literally, whereas the other keywords are all included in at least one of my ads. 

This made me think of the general question how ads within an ad group are selected with regard to the defined keywords.I know that there is some user control over how ads are selected with the "Ad delivery" tool but that's not what I am trying to understand. What I would like to know is this: Say I have an ad group with the keywords "foo" and "bar". "foo" performs well because I have an ad that includes "foo". However, "bar" performs poorly because it's not included in any ad. In other words, if a user googles "foo", my ad comes up but if they google "bar" my ad won't show. Based on my previous assumption I am also assuming that "bar" will start performing better once I create an ad that includes "bar". However, once I create the ad that would include "bar", would the ad including "foo" (but not "bar") also start showing up when a user googles "bar"? And vice versa, would the ad including "bar" (but not "foo") start showing up when a user googles "foo"?