AdWords
6.3K members online now
6.3K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Error importing CSV/ or paste as text (adwords editor)

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi everybody,

I’m relatively new to Google AdWords and since this week I've been trying to import campaigns by using a CSV File. First I constructed my own CSV based on the example on Google, but after importing this file I get a lot of errors.  After that I tried exporting a CSV from an existing campaign and only replacing the campaign name, ad groups and keywords. Exactly the way I imported it from AdWords.  Even after trying it like this I get the same errors.

I’m trying to import a campaign with 22 Ad Groups and of all those just 3 import correctly (I import them either directly as a CSV or just paste as text).  If import as text I can see the 3 Ad Groups that to appear properly have a different lay out in the editor than the other 19 . I tried to upload screenshots, but I couldn't figure how to. If it might happen, please ask I post them gladly!!

AdWords editor gives me the notification that 228 rows are imported with warnings and 114 rows are not imported at all. I receive the following errors:

•          Only comments can contain multiple lines; field treated as empty.
  •          Only comments can contain multiple lines; field treated as empty. Duplicate text ad

The reason AdWords sees some of my text ads as duplicated is, because all the keywords and the ads belonging to the wrongly imported ad groups are getting placed in the 3 ad groups that do work.

Sorry for the long text, but I’ve tried many things and looking for solutions online, but I still can’t find anything.

I’m hoping someone of this forum can help me!

Many thanks in advance!

Bram

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Bram K
September 2015