AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
2.7K members online now
2.7K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Edit or Create New Campaign

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi community,

I am new to adwords and only have less than 1 year experience. I have several questions to be asked, but I think I will start asking one by one Smiley Happy

As the title said, now I am confused about which one I should do, edit current campaign or create a new campaign.

The condition is, every month I try testing the campaign settings. For example :

- 1st month, I set up a search network only campaign, target location to 10 cities, create several adgroups with exact match and phrase match keywords.

- 2nd month, because I found that some cities not doing well and the CTR people click on midnight is low, I adjust the settings to 7 cities and make the schedule to 7 AM - 10 PM.

- 3rd month, I am trying several new things, such as more categorized adgroups, different ads copies, add negative keywords, etc. This month, I copy the last campaign and edit this new campaign.

- 4th month, I have a new promotion for the product, so I need to change the landing page URL, ads copies, remarketing picture, etc. Just like before, I copy the last campaign and edit that campaign.

- 5th month and so on, I always copy and then edit the campaign.

Why I copy/create a new campaign? Because I think if I just edit the last campaign, my data for the last campaign will be deleted. Then I cannot compare it again with the new campaign using different settings.

But I am still not sure if what I am doing is the right thing. So, what is the best practice for this situation? Thank you!

2 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution