Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Duplicate keywords in same Adgroup, compete each other

Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

Hello! I'm new to Adwords, 

I have these modified broad match keywords in same Adgroup, I have labeled 3 keywords as A,B,C

A : +plc +programming

B : +plc programming +course

C : learn +plc +programming

Please someone explain which keywords are competing against each other?

If I'm doing anything wrong, Kindly suggest me a way better way. Please help me to understand this modified broad match thing without creating competition among my own Ads.

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Duplicate keywords in same Adgroup, compete each other

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
Hi Sandaruwan,

Well - B and C both contain A, therefore, any search query that would match B or C, could also match for A.

If you're not requiring the terms 'programming' in B, or 'learn' in C, removing those terms leaves you with:

A: +plc +programming
B: +plc +course
C: +plc +programming

When deciding on which keywords to use and their respective match types, you have to think about how they will interact with your other keywords as well, does it make sense to add this keyword or not?

I don't know what the account looks like, what plc means in this case but just simply based on what you have listed here, I might try:

A: +plc +programming
B: +plc +course
C: +learn +plc

When you use broad match keywords, you should always be looking for the best search queries that match these keywords so you can add them to your account in tighter match types (phrase & exact - in very rare cases Broad with modifiers).

If you have strong ad copies and a significant handle on your negative keywords, this could, hypothetically work.

The other option is to start adding in more phrase and exact natch keywords based on the search queries that are generating the best return for you.