AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
2.3K members online now
2.3K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Duplicate Keywords

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi,

I'm new to Adwords and just set up my first campaign with about 7 different adgroups with about 20-60 keywords per adgroup. My concern now is that I've duplicated keywords within an ad group and don't know how that will affect the effectiveness as well as what happens if I duplicate keywords by accident between two different ad groups. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks,

Margaret

2 Expert replyverified_user
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author margaretedits
September 2015

Re: Duplicate Keywords

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi Margaret,

Even though you are new to AdWords, I think you should try downloading AdWords Editor. It has a tool that de-dups all your ad groups. You can get it here: http://www.google.com/intl/en/adwordseditor/

Once you download it, run it like any other program. It will ask you for your AdWords login. There are different menus at the top. Click on "Tools" and then select "find duplicate keywords." It will highlight the duplicates for you and then you can delete them.

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
September 2015

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 4
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

You also may want to cut back on your keywords per ad group.  Generally speaking you shouldn't have more than 25 keywords per ad group.  (Adwords help lists 10-35 as best practice)

View solution in original post

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor