AdWords
3.2K members online now
3.2K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Does adding another ad group to a campaign cost more money?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am new to a company and they already have an AdWords account set up. Lets just say I am struggling like a fish out of water. I have read that it is best to have between five and 20 keywords in each ad group, but in some of the ad groups already set up there are 40-100 keywords. My question is, does adding another ad group cost money? or is the cost covered in the campaign?

3 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Natalie W
September 2015

Re: Does adding another ad group to a campaign cost more money?

[ Edited ]
Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor

Hi Natalie, further to Pete's reply, as he's said, each Campaign has its own budget so adding more Keywords cannot actually affect how much you pay; however each Keyword you have in a Campaign needs to be "fed" by budget - that Campaign budget is shared between all the Keywords. 

Imagine a TV game show where people are allowed into a sealed box to "grab" dollar bills that are blown into the box.  If they're just two people (Keywords) and they're allowed enough time, they'll collect all 100 bills blown into the box.  They won't both end up with $50 - it'll depend upon how fast (popular) they are.  One might get $60, the other $40.  If you then put 10 people in that same box, and give them 100 bills to chase, they'll still collect $100 but their share will be lower per person.