Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Difference between max CPC bid, max CPM bid and CPA bid

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi,

In Adwords editor under the adgroups tab I can see default max CPC Bid, max CPM Bid and CPA bid. Although I have some knowledge on what they mean, I'm a little confused as to exactly what they do. Can someone explain what is the difference between them please? Also, does a figure need to be added in all three of them?

Thanks 

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Difference between max CPC bid, max CPM bid and CPA bid

Participant ✭ ☆ ☆
# 2
Participant ✭ ☆ ☆
hey Rashed,

Max cpc: It is the maximum amount that you are able to pay for a click on your ad
Max CPM: Cost of thousand impression, It is set of thousand impression and you pay for each set of a thousand showings of your ad rather than paying for the number of clicks that you receive
CPA: The amount you the amount you're able to pay for a conversion.

You can set bidding option as per your goal. Generally people want to promote their brand choosing CPM Bid.

Please let us know for any further assistance.

Participant ✭ ☆ ☆
# 3
Participant ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi Rasheed,

Adding to what kandarp has said,

Yes, you have to set a figure in order to limit the maximum amount that you are willing to pay for a click, thousand impressions or/and Acquisition.

Depending on type of goals you want to achieve with a campaign you have to set the bidding strategy.

CPA- Cost per Acquisition (conversion).

Thanks and Regards

John Paul

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 4
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
Hi Rashed,

Adwords offers several Bid strategies for different type of campaigns. depending on your network (search or display) & your campaign goals you can choose a bid strategy for your campaign. you can choose only one type of bidding strategy for your campaign depending on the campaign type and network you choose(I.e. CPM is not available for Search Network).