1.9K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Creating large lists of keywords

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

I'm new to adwords and im overtaking and existing account. I'm struggling to find a way to work with a large number of keywords. An existing campaign has several thousands of keywords. I needed to check them trough keyword planner but it only supported 3000 keywords at a time. My question is: are there any other tools besides keyword planner that would help me create several thousand keywords from scratch including exact, broad and phrase matches and also correct and incorrect words typed, and how should i check them via keyword planner properly?

2 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Creating large lists of keywords

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
I'm not sure about keyword planner -or any alternatives - but for generating different match types you can use Excel. Write simple formulas to rebuild the lists with " " or [ ] then copy paste back.
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Magnet M
September 2015

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor

Hi Magnet M, I guess I have to ask if you're certain the Account needs the number of Keywords you're looking at.  While there are some businesses that do require a large number of Keywords - for example those promoting a large number of items by part number - having too many Keywords is also one of the most common mistakes in AdWords.

If this is an existing Account that has been running and collecting data, rather than using the Keyword Planner I'd use the actual data collected - it'll be a lot more useful than the estimates given in the Planner since it'll reflect your precise situation.