AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
1.9K members online now
1.9K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Can someone explain why I would bid on these two broad keywords?

Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭

hi All

I've been doing adwords for about 2 years now.. and i just realize, i don't know the answer to these questions

Suppose I sell red fluffy shoes...  and I have two keywords

red fluffy shoes

buy red fluffy shoes

(both broad).

Now...

1) If a query came in with "fluffy shoes", which keyword gets triggered? Is it the one with higher ad rank? (i.e. function of QS & bid)

2) Why on earth would i bid on "buy red fluffy shoes" (broad) if "red fluffy shoes" already matches all possibilities?

3 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Britta (Community Manager)
September 2015

This is why we have alternative match types

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Taewoo,

Question #1 - Yes the higher Ad Rank would be the Keyword that would be eligible for the impression.

Question #2 - This is why there are alternative match types.  Generally speaking, if you use a phrase match, say "fluffy shoes", you'll not only cover the near matches (buy fluffy shoes, red fluffy shoes etc..) but chances are that over time this would prove to earn a higher QS as you would be more relevant than just using broad match and would ideally get more relevant clicks.  I personally would not bid on both of those keywords as broad match.  Modified broad would even be a better option than to bid on both as broad match.

My 2 cents

-Tom

Tommy Sands, AdWords Top Contributor | Community Profile | Twitter | Philly Marketing Labs
Did you find any helpful responses or answers to your query? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer.’