AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
4.7K members online now
4.7K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Can some please explain me this ? Minumum Bid is (-) blank

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello all,

I am new to adword.

I have a simple question, If I search for "red rice bowl" in keyword planner, it shows me only 10 searches and suggested bid is (-) which means blank.

So, now my question is, if I add this keyword to my plan, they ask me for bid range. If i select the minimum available bid , let's say 0.01 cents or any possible minimum figure.

I will be charged (that minimum amount x 10) which will be 0.01 x 10 = 10 cents , because there are only 10 clicks.

Is this right or not ?

* What basically i want to know is , if there is no suggested bid for a particular keyword, Should I bid for minimum price, Will I be getting clicks or not ?

4 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Can some please explain me this ? Minumum Bid is (-) blank

Rising Star
# 2
Rising Star
Hi Atul,

Let me try and help you with this.

If you keyword in the planner gives you no minimum bid, it implies that Google has not yet received enough searches (as per their internal criteria) to suggest a bid to you.

So when you say, you will set a minimum bid for such a keyword (whatever the figure), you will not be charged that bid amount. The Cost per Click (CPC), is always calculated basis the cpc incurred by the ad copy above you (in terms of ad position) on the SERP.

You are actually charged just 1 cent lesser as compared to the CPC bid for the ad above you. You can understand this by looking at the CPC, Clicks & Cost columns in the Interface. You should ideally see that the CPC's your keywords have incurred are lower or almost the same as the Bid you have set for them.

Hope this Helps!

Cheers!