AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
3.8K members online now
3.8K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Campaign setup advice

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all, I'm fairly new to Adwords so looking for a bit of advice if possible.

I have a new travel business that offers resorts across the globe aimed at buyers from the UK. My site has country landing pages for broad searches (i.e. trips to Spain) and resort landing pages for specific searches (i.e. trips to Costa Brava). I've set up a campaign for each country and have a "generic" ad group in each, with (for example) the location targeting set to united kingdom and spain, and then with generic (non-location specific) keywords in the generic ad groups.

My problem is getting the specific resort ads to show up when searching.

I focus on different countries at different times of the year so want the ability to increase / decrease spend in particular countries at different times of the year so my assumption was one campaign per country was the way to go, but my question is:

Should I then create one campaign per resort as well and location target only that resort and the UK?

Or should I create separate ad groups for each resort within the main country campaign and adjust the generic keywords to include the name of the resort for each one?

Sorry if this is a newbie question, happy to provide any more context if someone could advise.

Many thanks

Matt

2 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Campaign setup advice

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
Hi Matt,

The usual tactique (a Best Practice) is to promote keywords to ad groups, and ad groups to campaigns when justified by stats. That allows for a relatively smooth transitional period unless you make way too many changes to the original structure.

Best,
Lakatos