5.2K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Campaign Organization

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am new to adwords and I'm handling an account which someone had previously operated for my company. In one of the campaigns we are running there are 42 ad groups.

What I have a question about is the organization of these 42 ad groups. Of these 42 ad groups, twelve are of the same product line. For example:

My company sells Hook and Loop products. We have 12 different similar ad groups with variations in the name such as "Hook and Loop" and "Hook & Loop". Another slight variation is some are separated by what the keywords are. So instead of including keywords related to hook and loop we have one ad group which includes strictly product numbers.

Is it standard for campaigns to have this many ad groups centered around one type of product, or should these adgroups be condensed?

Thanks for any help. 

2 Expert replyverified_user
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author NZgorski
September 2015

Re: Campaign Organization

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi NZgorski,

A good campaign organization is one that works. How are the ad groups doing? Are they profitable the way they are? Are some groups failing miserably?

The idea is to keep a close focus in your ad groups. It is logical to split ad groups by keywords, but if the ads are the same as other ad groups one might question the strategy. Some managers like to place poor performing (marginally profitable) keywords in a separate ad group or campaign. You may be looking at that.

I wonder about the "Hook and Loop" vs "Hook & Loop" split and how effectivde that is. Most of the time, special characters like the ampersand are ignored. Are you getting impressions and clicks from both groups? Have you looked at the search terms report?