AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

2.7K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

CPM or CPC

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I created a Display Ad using Display Planner and selected by niche target audience based on relevance scores.

Should I use CPM or CPC?

I am selling a new e-book on marketing healthcare pratices for healthcare providers in private practice.

and I am an unknow author.

1. So, should I do CPC to sell the book or CPM (pay per thousand impressions) so I get exposure to my book?

2. If I select CPM, are users still able to click on my ad, which takes them to my landing page or with CPM, there is no "ablility" to click my ad?

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Kelley P
September 2015

Re: CPM or CPC

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
Hi Kelley,
you should make two campaigns, one CPC and one CPM and run one each one week. That way you get the winner and use that campaign further.
2. Yes, they can click and land on your landing page.
Difference between CPC and CPM is that in CPC you pay a click and in CPM one thousand impressions. After my first test you can easily calculate ROI and continue with better campaign model.
Kind regards.

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Kelley P
September 2015

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
Hi Kelley,
you should make two campaigns, one CPC and one CPM and run one each one week. That way you get the winner and use that campaign further.
2. Yes, they can click and land on your landing page.
Difference between CPC and CPM is that in CPC you pay a click and in CPM one thousand impressions. After my first test you can easily calculate ROI and continue with better campaign model.