AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
5.6K members online now
5.6K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Brand new to Adwords: I have adwords gift card for $100 - what should I do with it?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi All,

I am brand new to adwords and was given a $100 google adwords gift card by my boss. I understand all the basics, but I don't get how the bidding works and how far my $100 will go. What's the best use of my $100? Should I try one or 2 keywords? What should I make my max bid amount? I'm a little overwhlemed. 

1 Expert replyverified_user
3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Zee (Community Manager)
September 2015

Re: Brand new to Adwords: I have adwords gift card for $100 - what should I do with it?

Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭

This all depends on how competitive your keywords are. The best thing to do is to figure out which area of your business will bring back the largest ROI. Then use Google keyword tool to research you ideas. Choose the keywords that are very tightly themed. If you are going to use broad match keywords I reccomend using the nroad match modifier this will help to keep you from showing up on relevant searches. This will help to keep your CTR higher which in turn will help keep cost down. Write related ads and point them to the most relevant pages on your site. Following these steps will help to keep your cost down and help to make the 100  go further.

Keyword tool

https://adwords.google.com/o/Targeting/Explorer?ideaRequestType=KEYWORD_IDEAS&__u=3311096249&__c=175...

Match types

http://support.google.com/adwords/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=2497836

hope this helps Smiley Happy

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
September 2015