AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

4.4K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Book sales!

Vic
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Vic
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am an author of three novels. How can AdWords help in getting my books noticed?

Vic Mills

jemworks.vic@gmail.com

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Book sales!

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Vic and welcome to the forum.  To be honest, books are truly tough to advertise with a direct profit.  Your approach is going to be mostly about "brand awareness" rather than providing sales.  Let's look at an example: If I sell watches I can advertise my products on the search network based upon Keywords "oris", "omega", etc.  With well chosen Keywords I know I can show my Ads to people who are actually looking to buy a watch of that brand/type.  If the Ad is well written and the click lands on a good page which shows the product they want and the price is right and so on, sales will come.

Books are much, much tougher because unless you're a well-known author where people might search by your pen name (I'm sorry, I don't know if you are the "Vic Mills" I found on Amazon) you're targeting an audience that probably isn't actually seeking to buy your book.  You can't use Keywords like "thriller" or "romance" or "crime novel" because you'll just be one of millions of results.  In short, people aren't looking for your book.  So, how do you get it noticed (and yes, I know this was your original question).