Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Avg. CPC is more than MAX CPC - Search Campaign

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello All,

I'm new to adwords and I recently launched my campaign (last night). The campaign is a Search only campaign (currently includes search partners). I'm having an issue and I cannot seem to figure out why or how it is happening. My Avg. CPC is higher than my MAX CPC on several keywords. I have put several images on imgur to show my account settings and I will be happy to answer any other questions if someone can help me figure out why this is happening.

Link to images (gallery):

Campaign Images

Image 1 - Bid Strategy:

Focus on clicks is checked, enhanced CPC is NOT checked. "I'll manually set my bids for clicks" is checked.

Image 2 - Device Adjustments:

I have -100% for mobile devices set. No other adjustments have been made.

Image 3- Locations:

This is off topic to the subject, but when I go to locations it shows that United States has no clicks/impressions/etc. Why is this? My campaign is set to US only and I can verify through analytics that all my clicks have come from the US.

Image 4 - Ad Schedule:

No scheduling has been made nor have any adjustments been made.

Image 5- Proof of Avg. CPC is higher than Max CPC:

I have ad group level bidding set at $1.00. This image is taken from the keywords tab where I have individual bids are set per keyword. To my count, there are 6 keywords in the screenshot whose Avg. CPC is higher than their max CPC. I made some bid adjustments last night, but I didn't have many clicks prior to making the adjustments. I even clicked on one of my ads this morning to test and it cost $.58 when my MAX CPC is set to $.45. This is row 3 in the screenshot.

Are there any other bid adjustments that can be set that I'm missing?

Thank you in advance!

Re: Avg. CPC is more than MAX CPC - Search Campaign

Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

Hi Billy,