1.6K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Am I doing local search right?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I'm trying to manage an adwords campaign for an electrician friend. I'm a complete novice and the more I read, the more confused I end up feeling.

My setup

I have split categories up in to towns. So there's a different category for Portsmouth and Southamptom for example. This seemed like a logical way to structure the account.

The campaign level is geographically targeted by the matching town. Therefore my ad should only be triggered by people searching within that location or they specifically target the location with keyword?

The ad groups are then broken down in to themes, for example (emergency electrician) and another is directly targetting (electrician portsmouth). Each of these ad groups has their own keywords, ads and landing page. I am using exact match keywords in these ad groups for example [electrician portsmouth] [electricians in portsmouth] and so on.

I have negative keywords setup for words such as auto, to eliminate people searching for auto electricians etc.

My biggest concern is absolute lack of impressions. I appreciate it's not going to generate thousands but we're talking under 100 impressions a day right now, spanning 10 towns and each town has specific ad groups targeting emergency electrician, qualified electrician and so on.

Today, I even setup a new campaign, targeting the exact match [electrician] which targetted a 15 mile radius but that has failed to generate many impressions either.

Either hardly nobody searches for electricians online, or I'm doing something drastically wrong here. 

Any advice as to what I might be doing wrong would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Am I doing local search right?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Another thing I'm confused about, match types.