AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
4.2K members online now
4.2K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Address extensions

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am studying to take the adwords certificate at the moment. In the study guide (and on other adwords material) it is recommended that one uses the address extension for adverts aimed at the local market.

But does that not stop people from clicking (a link, a button, into website) if they can see the info they needed? And this will then not be measurable which is one of the benefits of using Google Adwords. Or am I missing something?

2 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Address extensions

Rising Star
# 2
Rising Star
Hi

Are you referring to location extension here?

Well lets say you do adwords campaign for a local hotel or restaurant and you use location extension with adwords. This doesnt necessary means that users will not click on the ad just because he can see location (address) displayed as a part of the ad text. Usually we use ad text to promote something more than location. For a eg scenario we can write an ad text to promote hotel offer and this same ad text can have location extension. But user would still click on the ad to check what the offer about

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 3
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
If the only thing a potential customer needs is your address, it means they already know what you sell. You don't need those people to click an ad. They've already decided to be you customer.

In the long run, location extensions increase clicks, because letting searchers know you're close to them encourages searchers who don't already know your businesses to click for more information about you.