AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
4.9K members online now
4.9K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Ad versus Keyword: How do I drive certain keywords to certain ads?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I'm new to AdWords so I apologize for sounding dumb here!

I have a campaign group with 10 keywords and 4 ads. How do I know which keywords are causing which ads to pop up? Is it random? I sort of thought this would be a 1:1 or a Many:1 relationship, where 1 is the ad. But it seems to be that its more like Many:Many. 

I know that if I were to want 1:1, or many:1 I could just create different groups. (I might still do that.) But my question is if it's many:many, how are the ads chosen for the given keywords.

Does my question make sense? I just want to make sure that I'm creating the correct ads and landing pages for the keywords that I choose. 

Thanks so much for your help!

Beacon

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Ad versus Keyword: How do I drive certain keywords to certain ads?

Explorer ✭ ☆ ☆
# 2
Explorer ✭ ☆ ☆
Hi Beacon,

That's a good question. As you note, the only way to control or know with certainty which ad Google will show for a particular keyword (or words) is to use only the ad you want to show in that ad group. It's impossible to know which ads show for which queries, though if you wanted to you could try doing a few searches using the ad diagnosis tool (https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/148778?hl=en). But this would get old pretty quick and you still wouldn't know for sure even if you did see a trend.