My Business
1.7K members online now
1.7K members online now
Follow threads that discuss the latest tips on how to get your business online… for free!
Guide Me
star_border

"Pharmacy" category is not recognized

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am one of the owners of Pharmacy First (MacLean & Poulain Pharmacy First Ltd) located at 266 South Foord Street, Stellarton, NS B0K 1S0 (although the Google maps listing shows it as B0K 0A2).  902-753-3784.  I am new to this and I have no idea how to find my Google+ URL.

We are trying to finish setting up our Google My Business profile and it does not allow us to choose "Pharmacy" as the Category for the business.  We are the newest of 3 pharmacies in the town and the other 2 both have "Pharmacy" as the category, but when I try to enter that it shows "We didn't understand your category. Please select from the suggestions that appear when typing."  The only suggestion was "Pharmaceutical Company" which is not correct.  Is there a way to chose the "Pharmacy" category?

3 Expert replyverified_user

Re: "Pharmacy" category is not recognized

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi @Kimberley M

That sounds strange, that the other 2 are Pharmacy and you can't select now.

I don't have a Canada business page, so i checked MapMaker for Canada and there is certainly a Pharmacy category available.

Please re check that you are typing Pharmacy.

The other possibility is that you have created in another language URL, but if in same account this should not be the case.

Could you take a screen shot of the available categories showing when you start typing pharm ....

Tim Capper, Google My Business Top Contributor
Was my response helpful? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer.’ Learn how here.

Find me on: Google+ | Twitter | Facebook | Linkedin
Tim operates a bespoke Local SEO Consultancy in the UK, Online Ownership

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi @Tim C,