My Business
1.1K members online now
1.1K members online now
Follow threads that discuss the latest tips on how to get your business online… for free!
Guide Me
star_border

Remove my business marker in Google Maps

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi

I am a photographer who works from home.

I have a My Business listing as I want people to find my business on Google, but when I search for my business (Fraser McCulloch Photography) on Google Search (using a third party Google account), then click on the Google Map, and then click Nearby, I see a placemarker of my home address.

I don't want this to be seen on Google Maps...how can I remove it.

Thanks,

Fraser

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Remove my business marker in Google Maps

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi @Goofy S

You can set your listing as a service-area business by following the steps here: https://support.google.com/business/answer/3038163

TomW, Google My Business Top Contributor
Was your question answered? If so, please mark the post that answered it as the ‘Best Answer.’ Learn how here.

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Thanks @TomW

I have unticked:

"I also serve customers at my business address. (Your address will be hidden from the public if this box isn't ticked.)" 

...but as per my original message, if someone searches for me on Google, clicks the Map and then clicks Nearby, I get a grey placemarker on my home address.

Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor

Sorry @Goofy S, I read your first post too fast. I do know what you mean. One way that will work is to not define the service area by radius. If you instead list it by cities, for example, you'll end up with a service area that isn't displayed as a circle. Google would then place that marker roughly in the middle of the now oddly shaped service area when you click on 'nearby'.

Was your question answered? If so, please mark the post that answered it as the ‘Best Answer.’ Learn how here.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 5
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭