My Business
6.5K members online now
6.5K members online now
Follow threads that discuss the latest tips on how to get your business online… for free!
Guide Me
star_border

Google Places gone haywire. please help

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi guys this is my first time here so I hope I have this in the right spot.  

I'll make this as brief and as clear as possible but I have a bad habit of shooting off on tangents. :)

I have a photography business in Adelaide Australia. Paulmac Photography. I live in a suburb called Craigburn farm which is a suburb of Adelaide.  The city centre ( CBD) is quite small.

I and my web designer/SEO person have worked hard to do all the right things to build a relevant page which ticks all the right boxes to rank well and I was happy to see that we got bumped up in Google places from 4th ( where people searching had to look at 'other places) wher I had been for a long time up to 2nd and even first for some keywords.  The main ones being ' Adelaide wedding photographers'

This was all going fine until around 4 days or so ago when it seems that Google places has just been turned on it's head. Myself and another photographer... He has always been ranked in the top three that I can remember suddenly got dropped to 12th and 14th and we have no idea why?  We have photographers above us that have zero or perhaps one review and even a newborn photographer ranking above wedding photographers.  I'm just wondering if anyone here from Google can explain what's happened?