My Business
3K members online now
3K members online now
Follow threads that discuss the latest tips on how to get your business online… for free!
Guide Me
star_border

Can't update website address in My Business

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am a consultant helping a client rebrand her business from "Lisa Phalen" to "Barrington Coaching." She recently changed her website address from lisaphalen.com to barringtoncoaching.com. On 9/30/16, I moved everything to the new domain. I completed 301 redirects and forwarded her old domain to the new one at her site host. I've sent a "change of address" to Google. I've added the new site to Search Console and Google Analytics. I've updated Google+ posts to direct to the new site. I've kept the same Gmail address, but changed the display name to reflect my client's new name.

Despite all this, I am unable to update the website listed in her My Business account (again, we want the website to be barringtoncoaching.com, not lisaphalen.com, which also affects her Google+ page (https://plus.google.com/112170614416254795297/about?gmbpt=true&hl=en&_ga=1.51831980.446273160.147269...). Every time I enter barringtoncoaching.com, the system kicks back with an "Updated" message and reverts to lisaphalen.com, saying it auto-updated the field based on other data. Is it too early to make the change? Do I have to wait for a confirmation from Google that the change of address has gone through? Please advise. Thanks. My phone number is 715-925-6124.   

2 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Can't update website address in My Business

Badged Google Partner
# 2
Badged Google Partner

It appears to have gone through from my view.  Or am I missing something?  You may have a Caching issue and want to close your browser, logout, clear cookies and log back in..

If I am totally off here, let me know. ( sorry in advance)

bcoach.JPG

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor

Soory @Eric Gehler for chiming in to the thread of @Lisa B