My Business
2.9K members online now
2.9K members online now
Follow threads that discuss the latest tips on how to get your business online… for free!
Guide Me
star_border

Business Categories

[ Edited ]
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

1. Business Name: Tim Wheeler Services
2. Business Address: Bromley

3. Phone Number: 020 3287 6450

4. Google Maps URL: https://www.google.co.uk/maps/place/Tim+Wheeler+Services/@51.3093438,0.1769259,10z/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0...

I am a manager of the My Business pages for some local businesses.
I have at least 2 issues with finding the most appropriate categories and at least one issue with the way that the current categories are set up.

Appropriate categories.
I'm UK based and I use a laptop correctly configured for being in the UK and using English.

Issue 1
Why is the full list of categories not available?
Playing the guessing game is OK if the business matches exactly or very closely with an existing category, but a great time waster if it doesn't.

Issue 2
When I use the My Business UI it sometimes shows in English (hl=en-GB in the URL), but more frequently shows in American, for want of a better word (hl=en)

I have yet to find an explanation for this, but the problem is that the categories shown are different in the different languages - something that would be blatantly obvious if the full category list was available.

e.g. for one of my clients I saw that similar businesses were using Waste Collection Service, but when I tried to enter this it wasn't accepted until I discovered that I was seeing the American categories and in there it was Garbage Collection Services.

Category Set Up

Issue 1

In my opinion the category set up is unhelpful and doesn't help with relevance.
I appreciate that it's difficult to have categories for everything, but for two of my clients this is the problem...

Client 1

Would like to have Office Clearance Service, but it doesn't exist.