My Business
5K members online now
5K members online now
Follow threads that discuss the latest tips on how to get your business online… for free!
Guide Me
star_border

Akers Home Inspections

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi. I'm a Certified Master Home Inspector.

I'm creating my business page and want to list in the category of 'Home Inspector' - I see my competitors are listed in that category but it does not come up as a category available to me. I need to be in the same category where my competitors are and where our clients are looking. Home inspector, home inspections, property inspections - nothing is coming up.

There's really no other category that fits. Any suggestions for me?

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Akers Home Inspections

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
I see this category availble for the US.
In what country do you run your business?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Canada... and my competitors are in my town. I see 'Home Inspector' in a list of all Google categories in the Canadian release of Categories from January 2016, but it will not come up in my editing area.

Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor
Ok I see.

But the actual list of categories is listed in here https://developers.google.com/my-business/content/categories (scroll down and click then on "categories_en_CA.csv")
Search over there for "gcid:home_inspector" and you will see its encoded as "building inspector"
Note searching on the according US related list "categories_en_US.csv" for "gcid:home_inspector" you will find it as "home inspector" though.

I personally consider it a category bug regarding "gcid:home_inspector" for your country Canada to escalate to Google (will do this right now)