AdWords
4.5K members online now
4.5K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

statistical significance when running tests?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi

I´m making a campaign for a conference and have a budget for 2000 dollars.

I am going to run a test campaign to try to find the campaigns, ad groups and keywords that convert the best.

How do I find out if my test results is statistically significant? How many clicks do I need? 

I have made 15 campaigns with 15 adgroups in each campaign and with 4 ads in each adgroup. 

I am pretty new to this so all feedback is welcome.

/Tobias

3 Expert replyverified_user

Re: statistical significance when running tests?

[ Edited ]
Collaborator ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Collaborator ✭ ✭ ✭

I make tests until they spend 20% of my budget and than predict the other 80% of the behaviour of the campaign based on that, because budget limits is a thing to be controled and stoped.

In some cases when amount paid for a click is too high and the budget too low, or the time frame is less than 1 week in order to get high and low traffic days, the tests can't gather enough data to be significant.

If you get 1000 clicks at 4 cents and spend 40 $ in a day to test some ideeas, that day is the only test you need.

Write more details about what you are trying to achieve and what optimisations have you made so far.

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor

Hello Tobias;

Great question;

After the experiment has started when the system has enough data that is statistically significant, it will be shown under "experiment" in the segment menu;

Read more:

Monitor your experiments

Moshe, AdWords Top Contributor , Twitter | Linkedin | Community Profile | Ad-Globe
Did you find any helpful responses or answers to your query? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer’

Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor