AdWords
3.1K members online now
3.1K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

help with Display Network placements

Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

Hi,
I am new to Display Network. I've been researching and reading lots of posts and support pages by Google, but two things about placements are really bugging me:

1) From what I could gather, you can't pause automatic placements. So I excluded a few where I didn't want my ads to show (although I'd have liked to keep their stats). Then I added a few Managed Placements manually, via Display Planner and the +Targeting button. Now these placements (managed) I should be able to pause - there are support pages by Google that tell us so - however I cannot pause them. The pause button is not available by their side and even if I mark placements and click on EDIT > PAUSE nothing happens. The only way I could get to pause Placements was copying them from another ad group and adding them as paused.

Also, I read about a workaround on pausing Automatic Placements, where we can add them as Managed and then pause them. Can that be really done?

2) The Managed Placements I added myself over 2 days ago still aren't showing ads. My ads are served to all other automatic placements, but not on the Managed ones.
When I hover over that little dialogue icon, I usually get 3 diagnosis types:

- I still don't have enough AdSense views to diagnose
- I've been outbidded by competitors

or simply

- Status not available now. Try again later

As for being outbidded, I significantly raised the bids on those yesterday (nothing happened as of now).
But the other two "diagnosis"... When I get "Not enough AdSense views" and "Status not available" it doesn't help me one bit.