AdWords
2.1K members online now
2.1K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

Using Automatic Rules To Mimic Ad Scheduling So As To Be Able To Use Automatic Bidding

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi Folks,

Two points:

1) I am relatively new to adwords and would like to start out using automatic bidding to get a feel for things.

2) Ad display has to map to the times a call-centre is open i.e. 8.00am - 9.00pm weekdays and 8.00am - 2.00pm Sat and closed Sunday. This cannot be compromised.

However, for a campaign, one cannot use ad scheduling with automatic bidding.Mmmm?

Rather than kick into manual bidding, which lets face it, is not an 'exact science' I see two possible workarounds ...

1) Manually stop and start campaigns myself.... and become a slave to the clock.

2) Set up some automatic rules that map to this requirement. 

Ok number 2) seems doable even though I'm applying a heavyweight recurring schedule thing.

My concern is that the Automatic Rules may goof up the automatic bidding ... I mean I'm effectively applying what shouldn't be done aren't I? Is there a best practice I'm violating here?

I would be very grateful for any advice and thoughts on this crazy workaround I've concocted.

Many thanks

Regards Mark, Workflows

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by MosheTLV (Top Contributor)
September 2015

Re: Using Automatic Rules To Mimic Ad Scheduling So As To Be Able To Use Automatic Bidding

Top Contributor Alumni
# 2
Top Contributor Alumni

Hi workflows,

Welcome to the community. You should stick around, plenty of good advice to be had here.

Personally I prefer manual bidding as I am able to control keyword bids and positions myself but using automated rules to schedule your ads should work OK.

As you need the times to be set this way, you only have the 2 options as you mentioned and rules are the easiest way to manage this.