AdWords
2.4K members online now
2.4K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

Real Time Bidding and AdWords

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am a marketing student at Erasmus University in Rotterdam. I'm writing my master thesis on Real Time Bidding. I want to compare the effectiveness of using RTB versus not using RTB for advertisement campaigns of a hotel. My question is if I can, through Google Adwords, launch a campaign that uses RTB and a campaign that does not use RTB. It would be of great help to me if you could answer this question. Thank you very much in advance.

Kind regards,

Anastasia

3 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Real Time Bidding and AdWords

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Anastasia,

You can set up multiple campaigns with varying bid strategies.  I assume you're referring to Conversion Optimizer and Enhanced CPC or something along those lines as your RTB strategies?  Perhaps something else? 3rd party bidding system that uses AdWords API?

However, I present a question to you.  What are your plans to execute this experiment?  If you have two campaigns that are identical and vary the bidding options, they will be competing against each other.  You will not have an actual controlled experiment there. 

Just curious...

-Tom

Tommy Sands, AdWords Top Contributor | Community Profile | Twitter | Philly Marketing Labs
Did you find any helpful responses or answers to your query? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer.’

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor

Hello  Anastasia,

Ohhh.... RTB...one the hottest topics in online advertising...

Here is an interesting white paper Google published about 18 months ago on RTB;

Google-White-Paper-The-Arrival-of-Real-Time-Bidding-July-2011

Moshe, AdWords Top Contributor , Twitter | Linkedin | Community Profile | Ad-Globe