AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
2K members online now
2K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

Manage campaigns for different companies with identical keywords

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi everybody,

I am new to this community and am hoping some of you experts might be able to advise me regarding managing adwords campains for different, but directly competing companies simultaneously. I have read up on the double-serving policy and I assume that is of no concern to me, since the campaigns link to clearly different companies. 

I will provide a bit more context for you first: I am a small business owner and currently build and host websites for companies from a specific market niche. This is because I focused my acquisition efforts on just a few niche markets to try to specifically appeal to them and cater to their needs. This worked rather well and now I have developed websites for various companies and self-employed professionals in this market. So far so good, but the difficulty for me starts now a number of them have asked me if I can assist in setting up Adwords campaigns. I will admit I am no expert, but have at least some experience on the subject so I happily agreed. 

It occured to me while setting up a number of Adwords accounts for these companies from my MCC account, that I now have several directly competing companies in terms of keywords, target group and location. Yes, I can segment some of the campaigns to target only people in their vicinity so there is no real cross-over between campaigns, but for some others there is just no other way than to target the same people using the same keywords in the same area for two different companies.