AdWords
2.3K members online now
2.3K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

Linking Adwords Campaign and Conversions

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Good morning all. I am extremely new to the Google Adwords Campaign. So forgive my ignorance in advance.

I am a new Adwords Campaign user and have a few questions about it.

1) When inserting the code on my conversion page, how does the code know when someone is converting from an ad campaign? Is a cookie placed on the users machine when they click thru one of my ads?

2) Is there a way to link Ad Campaigns to conversions? I would like to run multiple ad campaigns at one. But how do I place the code on my conversion page and how does the code know which conversion to report on?

Thanks for your help!

Greggory

2 Expert replyverified_user
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author DBlurton
September 2015

Re: Linking Adwords Campaign and Conversions

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hello Greggory,

Welcome to the forum Smiley Happy

You are right in your thinking that a cookie is placed when someone clicks your ad and reaches your website and take further actions. Hence when someone reaches a goal completion page i.e. either some form submission or purchase online, conversion is updated inside your Adwords account.

Yes, you do get the data of conversion starting from campaign to the core keyword level as to which keyword draw that conversion for you.

To understand more on this concept which is highly recommended for all Adwords users to use this (i.e. conversion tracking script), I would encourage you to read these 2 interesting help center articles.

http://support.google.com/adwords/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=1722022

http://support.google.com/adwords/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=1722054

Let us know if that helps!

Pankaj

Re: Linking Adwords Campaign and Conversions

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3