AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
2.5K members online now
2.5K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

Keywords Confusion

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am pretty new to adwords, about 2 weeks, but I did read about it before diving in.  The account I am jumping into has some existing campaigns and keywords, and one of the adgroups in one of the campaigns has some keywords (broad match) that were triggering keywords (also broad match) in other adgroups and campaigns.  This is a problem because it ends up triggering ads for other products.

I thought the problem was with the broad match, and started adding negative exact matches (on an adgroup level) for the keywords that were triggering other ads in the adoptive adgroups.  2 things happened immediately after that:  1.)  Seems like some of the quality scores dropped  and 2.) Other keywords have started triggering other keywords in other adgroups/campaigns.  It appears that the keywords that are triggering other adgroups/campaigns are located almost exclusively in 1 particular adgroup.

Any ideas? 

Thanks!

1 Expert replyverified_user
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Mini-CM (Community Manager)
September 2015

Re: Keywords Confusion

[ Edited ]
Participant ✭ ☆ ☆
# 2
Participant ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi KeyPlayer,

Actually "Other keywords have started triggering other keywords in other adgroups/campaigns" this issue is very general.

I think you really need to look hard at your keyword duplicay, account structure and strategy. 

I am pasting a conversation which i find on adword community 
on the same topic, that could be helpful.

* Ad group 1- "grade 6 widgets" with keywords related to it (grade6)