AdWords
6K members online now
6K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

Keyword Selection

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
I've been working with Adwords since Nov 2011. The biggest problem I run into is Keyword Selection. I've read tons of articles & watched vids from the Adwords team. But always second guess myself.

For example. I'm working with http://www.mhfoodsinc.com/. Trying to sell precooked Cajun ribs. Of course I've selected themes such as Cajun, Spicy, precooked. But how broad should I go?

Should I target users searching for rib Recipes? Pork Ribs?

Any thoughts would be appreciated
3 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Karl (Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆)
September 2015

Re: Keyword Selection

[ Edited ]
Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Swoodby,

Have you tried the Adwords Keyword Tool?  I will also turn to the Contextual Targeting tool and 'Inisights for Search' for ideas as well.  I would also suggest that you explore the '

It's not a bad idea to start working on your negative keyword lists as well, while doing keyword research, sometimes negatives will jump out at you.

I'm of the opinion that if you have the budget to work with, start toward the broader side of things and promote everything on your website.  For you, these topics may include: cajun deep fried, pork ribs, deep fried turkey, food delivery, precooked food, specialty bacon etc (this is off the cuff, I've done no actual research).  Terms like recipes could prove to be beneficial or not, someone looking for a recipe for tonight may not be interested, but could also order for another time.