AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
1.9K members online now
1.9K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

How do I measure the true ROI - control group testing?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi All

I'm relatively new to AdWords but I believe the issue of control group testing to be an advanced topic in AdWords. I would like to construct an AdWords campaign so that the true ROI can be evaluated considering any indirect impact and seasonality. Is it possible to set-up an AdWords campaign with simultaneous target and control groups, so that if a search would usually result in an ad impression it doesn't do so for a specified proportion of searches with the same keywords (the control group, all else being equal on average)?

Thanks in advance,

Pritpal

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Pritpal W
September 2015

Re: How do I measure the true ROI - control group testing?

Rising Star
# 6
Rising Star

I would caution you not to try to create any advertising structure that is designed to avoid creating activity. There are long-term performance and quality metrics associated with your website's domain name that you risk damaging if you deliberately include low-quality elements in your AdWords campaign(s).

In the end, though, the problem is that ACE is not designed to be used the way you describe. It's designed to be used to measure the potential impact of a change in your AdWords advertising. There is no truly controlled way to use it to measure the impact of advertising vs. not advertising.