AdWords
3.7K members online now
3.7K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

Help With Script - Campaign Settings Change

[ Edited ]
Explorer ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Explorer ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi All, 

I'm new to scripts. One of my clients needs two scripts to change between campaign bidding and budget settings. This is so they can alternate between higher, accelerated budgets and a normal, standard delivery budget. 

I managed to find this script for changing the budget but I could only apply it to one campaign and when I tried to preview, nothing came up. 

Can I have this apply to multiple campaigns? And if so can I add in the ability to change the delivery to accelerated?

function setCampaignBudget() {
  var campaignIterator = AdWordsApp.campaigns()
      .withCondition('Name = "INSERT_CAMPAIGN_NAME_HERE"')
      .get();
  if (campaignIterator.hasNext()) {
    var campaign = campaignIterator.next();
    campaign.getBudget().setAmount(100);
    Logger.log('Campaign with name = ' + campaign.getName() +
        ' has budget = ' + campaign.getBudget().getAmount());
  }
}

Thanks in advance! 

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Help With Script - Campaign Settings Change

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi @Abbie R unfortunately, at the time of writing, Scripts cannot set the delivery method of a budget, only read (get) it, so the idea kind of falls at the first fence.

That said, it's an unusual request anyway.  There's really only a couple of instances where accelerated delivery is beneficial to a Campaign, and none at all where the budget is sufficient to reach all potential impressions (in other words, if the Campaign is not limited by budget, there's absolutely no difference in the delivery of accelerated or standard).

What's the reasoning behind the requirement?  If you can provide some more detail there may be another way to script a solution.

Jon