AdWords
2.1K members online now
2.1K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

Demographics - reliable?

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi Everyone,

I am just starting out.  

My campain targets ads to parents of local youth soccer players.  The campagin settings exclude lots of segments: [Excluded Age: 18-24, 25-34, 55-64, 65+].  Do folks think the demographic data that Google uses to target ads is reliable? I wonder if I am loosing impressions and clicks with such strict demographic settings.  

When I have more money, I'll expand my AdWords budget and add an Ad Group with a different demographic profile, that is with few(er) exclusions.  But, I'll wait until I have more money.  Then, I'll compare results.  

(I have very narrow location settings because I am training local kids.)

Thanks, Chris  

2 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Demographics - reliable?

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Honestly? No, I haven't seen anyone able to target successfully so specifically. Facebook has better demographic data but AdWords doesn't pull it's data from such strict reliable (controlled) sources. 

It's making inroads with G+ but it will be a while before it's better. 

That's not to say that it might not work for you. You might be able to make something work with demographic bidding and managed placements. 

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by RachelM (Google Employee)
September 2015

Re: Demographics vs. Contextual targeting

[ Edited ]
Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor

Hello chris2004x ; Welcome to AdWords community;

After yesterday's Euro 2012  match between Spain and Italy, a  soccer question  is a great post, ...Smiley Wink

On demographic targeting  (my personal opinion): we are weaker than Facebook; Smiley Embarassed On all other fronts -  we strike Facebook tenfold