AdWords
2.9K members online now
2.9K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

Competitor clicking

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

How can I detect, identify and confirm a suspected competitor that may be clicking on my add in order to drain my account balance? I apologize if this has already been addressed somewhere, but I am new to this. Thank you!

3 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Zee (Community Manager)
September 2015

Re: Competitor clicking

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi newgauser,

You'll need to look through your web logs for AdWords clicks and see if you get repeated clicks from the same IP address. In your logs, look for the presence of a gclid value in the query string, do not use the referrer data as it an unreliable method of identifying the traffic.

If you notice on IP has unusually high number of clicks, you can block that IP address from seeing your ads.

Have you added the invalid click column to the campaign tab? If not, you might want to do that. It will show you on a campaign basis how many invalid clicks have been credited to your account. You can also get a look at the total number of invalid clicks in a billing cycle in the billing information.

Best of Luck!

Pete

petebardo -- Deadhead doing AdWords

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Zee (Community Manager)
September 2015

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi newgauser,

You'll need to look through your web logs for AdWords clicks and see if you get repeated clicks from the same IP address. In your logs, look for the presence of a gclid value in the query string, do not use the referrer data as it an unreliable method of identifying the traffic.

If you notice on IP has unusually high number of clicks, you can block that IP address from seeing your ads.