AdWords
4.4K members online now
4.4K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

A Few Newbie questions

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all,

I am PPC newbie and I studied few blogs regarding keywords research. BUT I still dont understand few things:

1. I found keyword with high search volume and low competition. If I put low max CPC into Google Traffic Estimator it doesn’t show me any result. Result appeared only at high CPCs. If I try to search this keyword in Google, no ads displayed. What does it mean and should I put low or high CPC?
  2. I also found opposite case: as I tried to search for long tail words appropriate keywords had low search volume but high competition. What should I do? Bid higher or try to find another long tail words?
  3. What If have keyword which is not being searched at all? I suppose I will set low max CPC?  
  4. Is there any way how to find out what keywords – and maybe max.CPC – have my competitors paid?

Thank you all for your help in advance!

With kind regards,

Bob

1 Expert replyverified_user
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Zee (Community Manager)
September 2015

Re: A Few Newbie questions

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 2
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

I only use the estimator for ideas, not for anything set in stone. I have found that if you start with a higher CPC than what you ultimately want to spend and then lower it after a day or two, you gain a better QS during that time and your keyword performs better overall. All keywords need a few days to really give you any idea of how they are going to work for you. Your QS and ad rank will also depend on your landing page. If your page has poor content, you will need to pay more for the word.