AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
5.3K members online now
5.3K members online now
Dive into advanced features like Remarketing, Flexible Bid Strategies, AdWords Editor, and AdWords Scripts
Guide Me
star_border

10/10 Quality Score, high bid strategy... Only 4th Spot!?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all

I'm a bit confused and need some help.

I have been using AdWords for around 2 months now with some success but I have a question that the Google team tried explaining but I still don't get!

Facts:

I have a keyword with 10/10 quality score.

I have flexibile top page bid strategy (limited to £4.50 per click)

Estimated top page bid for this keyword is £1.25 and google are matching my max CPC to same as est Top Bid

Daily budget is £100, which I am not anywhere near.

The problem...

When I do AdPreview & Diagnostics, for this keyword I am only in 4th position!

I have quite a few keywords with similar or worse results.  I would have expected to be in at least Top3!??

What's going on!? my main focus is to be Top 3 and I would have thought that was a winning formula!?

Any help is much apprecited! Smiley Happy

thanks

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: 10/10 Quality Score, high bid strategy... Only 4th Spot!?

Explorer ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ✭
Hi,

Just a quick couple of questions.

What is the average position for the specific keyword when you look in the AdWords reports?
Also, what is the current average CPC for that keyword?
What is the match type for the keyword?

If you do not wish to share publicly what the keywords is feel free to message me privately and I will have a look into what may be going on.
Ryan.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Hi Ryan

Thanks for getting back.

The average position is saying 2.1