AdWords Video Campaign - A lot of worthless views

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi there,

Before I start quick few facts that you might find useful:

- I'm fairly new to Google AdWords

- I started video campaign for a diet program a week ago. It is pretty simple 8-minute presentation of a diet program with offer to download free first e-book of the program

- I tried both In Display and In-Stream campaigns with country targeting options

- If the results were much better I could call them bad - what I got is far worse than bad

After reading quite a bit about AdWord video campaigns, I decided to give it a try. After going back and forth with compliance team, I finally managed to create video and website that complies with all the AdWords policies. 

On YouTube, I tagged the videos, added descriptions, and calls to action. I experimented with call to action options - Call To Action in the video, Annotations, Cards, etc. In AdWords, I used targeting options based on country and keywords. So, from what I read about video ads, I did pretty much everything by the book.

Now, I understand that viewers might not like the product I'm promoting or that they don't like the video. But not to receive a single visit to my website, especially considering the fact that I'm offering something free is beyond my understanding. 

At this point, after tweaking videos and call to actions options, I tried to figure out where my ads were shown. Looking at the stats, I got the feeling that a lot of views are not authentic, although invalid click showed 0. And here is why (please consider that I didn't visit every video or website where my ads were shown):

In-Stream campaign:

- More than one website is in gray and doesn't exist any more. Those were somethingtrashy.google.com websites.

- Out 130 views 105 have 100% view rate. When I visited some it is no wonder - you can't interrupt the video before 30 seconds expire.