AdWords
5.6K members online now
5.6K members online now
Use AdWords conversion tracking and reporting to measure your results. Have a question about Google Analytics? Post it here, on the Google Analytics Community!
Guide Me
star_border

tracking user_ID

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am trying to implement user_ID tracking in analytics under the ".js" feature. Sorry I am no programmer. Can someone help with assigning a "unique, persistent, and non-personally identifiable string ID" to an existing authorised user of my google site.

1. how and where do i assign this string to the authorised user's email address? can i do it simply through 'custom definitions'? what would the script be for such a definition?

e.g. 

user1: email1@email1.com - USER_ID: 00001

user2: email2@email2.com - USER_ID: 00002

2. would the tracker then look like this?:

ga('create', 'UA-XXXX-Y', { 'userId': '00001' });

ga('create', 'UA-XXXX-Y', { 'userId': '00002' });
ga('send', 'pageview');

3. what would the updated tracking code look like and how do i then upload it onto the google servers? Could I do it through the analytics site again, like 'customs definitions' without php implementation.?

Many thanks in advance

Re: tracking user_ID

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 2
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
You should to understand documantation wroted here or can ask questions about it.
https://developers.google.com/analytics/devguides/collection/analyticsjs/user-id

1. You can use email as userid.
2. No, you can use userid of a logined person - only 1 userid can be at one time.
3. To place your user to tracking code you need to know programming by the way.

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Thank you Darts,
I understand that if one used the email as USER_ID, it would be a violation of terms and conditions.
So how and where do i assign a USRR_ID unique string to the email, then please? Can one use "custom definitions" and how? Thank you

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 4
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆