AdWords
4.6K members online now
4.6K members online now
Use AdWords conversion tracking and reporting to measure your results. Have a question about Google Analytics? Post it here, on the Google Analytics Community!
Guide Me
star_border

Using news stories as adword campaigns to drive traffic?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi guys,

* disclaimer: please bear with with i'm very new to adwords as far best practice goes so i'm well out of my depth here.

I'm part of a very small online news outlet reporting on social media personalities and influencers and their gossip. I wanted to look at using adwords to start boosting traffic to our website. i thought i could run a small campaign through adwords with one of our more breaking stories and see if we could generate interest. For example "Celebrity X has just done y for reason Z"

My question is initially this sounded like a great idea, but before i commit to anything i thought i should see what any competitors are doing and i cant find a single advert on google where any news outlet is using adwords to push stories?!. From what i can see Trademark violation is not an issue as we are technically just reporting news and it's not fake news, so what am i missing?

Can any clarify why no media outlets are doing this? is it just not done or against the grain or even a violation of googles policies.

Any help or pointing in the right direction would be great.

1 Expert replyverified_user
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Keith S
March 2017

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi @Keith S

Welcome to AdWords

This is correct. Due to the dynamic of news  is our era news organization rely on organic search and social media to "spread" / distribute   news and exclusive stories.

That said, if your blog business model is based on a paid subscription, you can promote the subsciportion usning AdWords.

Moshe, AdWords Top Contributor , Twitter | Linkedin | Community Profile | Ad-Globe