AdWords
1.8K members online now
1.8K members online now
Use AdWords conversion tracking and reporting to measure your results. Have a question about Google Analytics? Post it here, on the Google Analytics Community!
Guide Me
star_border

Does an apostrophe in a keyword actually make a difference?

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi

I am a newbie SEO'er jacking up my knee help website that I started last week. My question pertains to the keyword planner results - search volume. My main keyword is "runner's knee" - however, the keyword planner says that there is no data for runner's knee, but only for runners knee (without the apostrophe). However, the correct spelling for runner's knee is with the apostrophe. Obviously if you a straight search on google, there are results for runner's knee and runners knee - different results. How does the apostrophe affect my campaign or not affect it? I do not know if you should leave my keyword in as runner's knee or runners knee.

I checked on SEO toolset and their result is exactly the opposite. High Search volume for runner's knee and very little for runners knee (without the apostrophe). Who do we believe??

CONFUSED WITH A CAPITAL C!!! Pls help!

Thank you!!!

2 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Julia R
September 2015

Re: Does an apostrophe in a keyword actually make a difference?

Top Contributor
# 5
Top Contributor

Hello Julia;

This is a nice question about a nice topic; And to which I have never been able to get a complete answer; (BTW: I suffered myself  a severe runner's knee, during the years I used to run long distances...Smiley Surprised

The system does recognize apostrophe.

However; to my understanding, if you use broad match or include "closed variants"  in exact match or phrase match that  should be included  even if you use the "non  diacritic" version.