AdWords
2.2K members online now
2.2K members online now
Use AdWords conversion tracking and reporting to measure your results. Have a question about Google Analytics? Post it here, on the Google Analytics Community!
Guide Me
star_border

Difference in Reporting Between Analytics and Adwords (18 per 100)

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am new to GA but long on Adwords.

I have been monitoring the GA results in comparison to Adwords billing and found a large discrepancy, as many do. I found and read this article:

https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/4588315?hl=en&ref_topic=4588493

And due to the complexity of the User to GA interface in comparison to the simplistic Adwords capture, I understand how the Adwords count and GA count can be different.

So, In a recent study I am running, in which I built a specific landing page which can only be accessed through Adwords, I found that GA only records 18% of the value which Adwords bills for that specific ad/landing page.

Is it safe to assume then.......... ALL GA numbers will only reflect 18%+- of the actual activity our site receives?

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Difference in Reporting Between Analytics and Adwords (18 per 100)

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
Hi @Peter H
Interesting post.
Short answer - no - GA numbers will not be only 18%+ of actual activity, it will usually be 95% similar to AdWords in consideration of the different ways they both measure and attribute data.
Can you elaborate on the details of your test.
As if you are saying that you made a page with no index etc. so only pure AdWords traffic and then when you had say 100 AdWords clicks you saw in GA only 18 AdWords sessions? That would be very unusual indeed - not the norm.
Can you share more?

Community Manager
# 3
Community Manager
Hi Peter,