AdWords
2.8K members online now
2.8K members online now
Use AdWords conversion tracking and reporting to measure your results. Have a question about Google Analytics? Post it here, on the Google Analytics Community!
Guide Me
star_border

Adwords conversions much lower than Analytics

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Apologies for posting yet another question like this, but prior answers have not adequately explained my situation. I'm fairly new to Adwords too.

I've been asked to re-pull 2012 conversion numbers from an Adwords campaign. This campaign is also tracked in Analytics. The conversion numbers are MUCH higher in Analytics, for example:

Adwords = 4,800 clicks and 266 conversions

Analytics = 5,400 visits and 430 conversions [under Ecommerce tracking]

Why such a dramatic difference? If we rely on the Adwords data, our CPA is almost $20 more which means we threw away a lot of money, but the previous reporter used the Analytics data. Obviously the person spending this money needs to know exactly what he's paying for each conversion.

I read somewhere that Analytics will credit the last click as a conversion, but these articles also say those conversions are no longer tracked as PPC campaign traffic. My numbers are purely PPC traffic from the same campaign.

Edit: I just discovered that if I filter my Analytics to show only NEW visitors, the conversion numbers are much closer to Adwords. So this would follow what I've read about Adwords just tracking the first click. Does that mean that these extra conversions shown in Analytics are people who did click the PPC ad, but didn't convert until a later visit?

If that is the case, how are we to accurately judge the campaign performance day-by-day and throttle the spending if these conversions are flowing in from weeks ago? It would seem to me that relying on the Adwords numbers alone would be the best solution in this case.