2K members online now
Use AdWords conversion tracking and reporting to measure your results. Have a question about Google Analytics? Post it here, on the Google Analytics Community!
Guide Me
star_border

AdWords

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I'm running AdWords search engine campaign and Facebook remarketing campaign at the same time. Say, a customer clicked into our website through Google Ad but did not purchase, and then he or she saw Facebook ad and made purchase through the FB ad. In this situation, would Google and Facebook both count one conversion and the corresponding conversion value? If so, how to avoid this kind of issue? Use different URL?

Thank you for your time and answer.

3 Expert replyverified_user

AdWords

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆

(Someone correct me if I'm wrong because I am still learning this topic) 

I think this has to do with attribution models, and most programs default to the Last-Click model. This means that Google will attribute the conversion to whichever the customer clicked last; in your case it would attribute that conversion to Facebook. This model can be changed to a couple of others (such as First-Click), but I would recommend reading this article on how to use the proper attribution model that is best for you: http://www.kaushik.net/avinash/multi-channel-attribution-modeling-good-bad-ugly-models/

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Eddie H
November 2016

AdWords

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor

Hi Eddie H,

It depends on how you record the conversion. If you use the AdWords code to record the conversion, AdWords will claim it if the conversion happens within your defined window (30 days by default). And Facebook will claim it as well.